1994: What does the future hold for us?

While doing some major cleaning of an old house I ran across a gem. It’s a book written in 1973 titled 1994: The World of Tomorrow. Published by U.S. News and World Report it was a gaze into the future from the perspective of the early 1970s.
I immediately knew I had fodder for writings.
I will be recording some of my thoughts about this book as it relates to the inexact science of predicting the future. This world would work a bit better if consequences were forseeable. I don’t expect the blind leading the blind approach to change because of me, but I think it will be fun to look at what the “experts” thought would happen in an age where cell phones and personal home computers weren’t available.
In perusing the contents I can already tell that this will be fascinating.
On one hand there is the illustration of a stadium with an “air-supported roof.” Then there’s the chapter about the “Family submarine.”
I’m giddy with delight and anticipation.
Be sure to check back often to see how I fare.
To the future…

One comment

  1. As Yogi Berra . . . or somebody . . . once said, “Prediction is difficult, especially about the future.”

Leave a Reply

