Abstracts from a notebook

What my notebook looks like (blank).
Recently, I purchased three Moleskine 3.5″x5″ soft cover notebooks. (It’s a write off.) My intent was to carry one everywhere and manually record bits and pieces of ideas and info. It’s not a new technique. In fact, I was reminded of it through Getting Things Done, a work-life management system for increasing productivity. For me, writing things down works. I can record snippets that help me remember an idea for an article or column. I record reminders and phone numbers. When I visit the bookstore, I can write down titles that I want to know more about when I get back online.

The notebook itself is a soft cover card stock with stitched binding which keeps it from falling apart. The inside pages are lined and slightly cream colored. The Moleskine wasn’t cheap, but I totally bought into the hype. Read it for yourself.

For two centuries now Moleskine (mol-a-skeen’-a) has been the legendary notebook of artists, writers, intellectuals and travelers. From gifted artists Henri Matisse (1869–1954) and Vincent van Gogh (1853–1890), to poet and leader of the surrealist movement André Breton (1896-1966) to Ernest Hemingway (1899-1961) considered the most influential writer of the last century, to famous travel writer Bruce Chatwin (1940-1989).

I think it helps. I’ve only used up the first few pages, but there is a certain freedom in being able to write as big as I want. (Next time I will go unlined.) I’m still working on what I want to put into it. You know, do I include grocery lists or do I save it for the really big ideas?

So far I’ve got …

  • a schedule from Starbucks
  • a reminder to send a press release to Fox 59
  • info about ORG Magazine for freelancing purposes
  • notes from a “Meet the Media” event hosted by the Hoosier Public Relations Society of America.
  • more magazin info i.e. OutdoorIndiana.org and ShakespeareScene.com
  • IRefuseTo.com
  • “What was your A-Ha moment?”
  • reminder that Doug Sisk of Danville was named the Wayne Township Educator of the Year
  • reminder that Taste of Hendricks County is July 9
  • reminder that July 14 is the Leadership Hendricks County Golf Outing
  • Edutopia
  • reminder that I need to write a humor piece for publication
  • idea: write and film a video about the sword fight in Clermont as comedy (never did it.)
  • reminder to check out OpenOffice.org, the free Microsoft Office Suite
  • column ideas
  • Beacon’s Publicity Checker
  • Ambrose Bierce
  • “Cadillac”
  • quote for a print job
  • a website address for a new HR firm called “ThatsGoodHR.com”
  • and extensive notes on my June column for the Hendricks County Business Leader. I would go into detail, but then you wouldn’t read it.
One comment

Leave a Reply

